NZ Truck Driving Championship

NZ Truck Driving Championship







The 2017 NZ Truck Driving Championship is well underway with a number of regional competitions already completed. Every year this event gets bigger and better and is a fantastic showcase for the skill and professionalism of the top drivers in our industry.

Once more, we are fortunate to have the support of TR Group as the event’s major sponsor.

Regional competitions will determine who goes through to the final to be held in conjunction with the RTF Conference in Hamilton on 10/11 November. Upcoming competitions have  been confirmed for:

NRC – Auckland 28 October TR Group, 781 Great South Rd, Mt Wellington, Auckland


Confirmed 2018 Events

Region 3 10 February 2018 TR Group, Palmerston North


Other regional events will be communicated once dates and venues are confirmed.

Winners of each category at the regional competitions go through to the 2017 NZ Truck Driving Championship Final on 10/11 November at Claudelands Arena in Hamilton.

Drivers interested in taking part should contact your local area executive or association for more information.

2017 Regional Event Winners

Northland Competition, Whangarei, 14 October

Name Company Class
Ashleigh-Jade Sutherland SJ Reid Transport Class 4
Stephen Gray SJ Reid Transport Combination Tractor & Semi
Simon Reid SJ Reid Transport Combination Truck & Trailer
Matthew Frood SJ Reid Transport Young Driver of the Year

Region 5, Dunedin, 14 October

Name Company Class
Chris Rigby ICON Logistics Combination Tractor & Semi
Peter Harrison Fulton Hogan Combination Truck & Trailer
Chris Rigby ICON Logistics Young Driver of the Year

Region 2, Hamilton, 16 September

Name Company Class
Craig Fryer APL Direct Combination Truck & Trailer
David Rogers TranzLiquid Combination Tractor & Semi
David Rogers TranzLiquid Young Driver of the Year

Region 4, Christchurch, 14 May

 Name Company Class
Philippa Van Grondelle Move Logistics Rigid Class 2
Craig Aitchison Conroy Removals Rigid Class 3 and 4
Dean Fraser NZ Express Transport Combination Tractor & Semi
Chris Hancox HIAB and Transport Solutions Limited Combination Truck & Trailer
Samantha Fraser NZ Express Transport Young Driver of the Year

Region 3, Palmerston North, 18 February

Name Company Class
Sam Linton Emmerson Transport Rigid Class 2
Mark Olliver Q Transport Rigid Class 3 and 4
Greg Knox Conroy Removals Combination Tractor & Semi
Mathew Jackson Ben Allen Transport Combination Truck & Trailer
Ben Wood McCarthy Transport Young Driver of the Year

Resources for Competitors


2016 NZ Truck Driving Championship


NZ Champion Truck Driver 2016 – Stuart Howard, Terence Howard & Sons

ERoad Young Driver of the Year – Campbell Murdoch, Murdoch Transport Ltd
Rigid (Class 2) – Dean Wilson, Philip Wareing Ltd
Rigid (Class 3 & 4) – Maikara Brown Rapana, Move Logistics
Combination Truck-Trailer – Reagan Brown, HWR Freight Haulage
Combination Tractor-Semi – John Baillie, Baillie Transport

Click here for more info on last year’s results